Social Icons

Social Connect

Press Releases
March 23, 2017

Television Academy Foundation Announces 38th College Television Awards Nominees

Mister Rogers Memorial Scholarship Winners and Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Awardees also Announced

(NoHo Arts District, Calif. — March 23, 2017) — The Television Academy Foundation announced today the nominees for the 38th College Television Awards who will be honored at the Academy's Wolf Theatre at the Saban Media Center on Wednesday, May 24. The awards show will be available to view online via live stream at

Hunter March, producer, writer and TV personality of AwesomenessTV, yesterday announced the nominees in two major College Television Awards categories – Best Drama and Best Comedy – to his social media audience. The complete list of nominees is posted online.

"Our goal with the CTA's is to honor the exceptional work of these diverse students and leverage our platform to spotlight the next generation of creators and executives in the television industry," said Madeline Di Nonno, chair of the Television Academy Foundation. "We congratulate our nominees on their outstanding achievements and look forward to their continued successes."

In addition, winners of two special awards were announced: the Mister Rogers Memorial Scholarship competition and the Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Award. The Mister Rogers Scholarship is a project-based award and is underwritten by EY, a global leader in professional services. It is given to rising and graduating seniors and graduate students working on projects in children's media and pursuing a career that furthers the values and principles of Fred Rogers' work. The Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Award is presented in partnership with the Loreen Arbus Foundation to the student project that best portrays disability topics and issues. Winners of these awards will be presented at the May 24 College Television Awards.

The College Television Awards is a nationwide competition recognizing excellence in student work and spotlighting an inclusive group of talented storytellers and content creators who aspire to careers in the entertainment industry. All nominees and pre-announced award-winners attend a two-day television summit prior to the awards, featuring a hands-on professional development experience and access to many of the industry's top executives and innovators. They also become Television Academy Foundation alumni and are able to network and benefit from ongoing programs and offerings.

Download the press release here.

The 38th College Television Awards list of nominees include:

Dollar King
Trevor Smith
American Film Institute

Magic Mouse
Annie Bravo
Austin Brown
Full Sail University

DeKalb Elementary
Reed Van Dyk
University of California-Los Angeles

Joshua Valle
American Film Institute

Viola, Franca
Marta Savina
University of California-Los Angeles

Dylan Hoffman
Brigham Young University

Christina Faraj
Alice Gavish
School of Visual Arts

The Wishgranter
Kal Athannassov
Ringling College of Art and Design

A Taylor Story
Becky Prolman
Camille Houphouet-Boigny
Chapman University

The monkey king is in town
Shamola Kharkar
Chapman University

Pick Your Own
Amanda Domuracki
Andrew Fewsmith
Wes Palmer
Luke Shields
Boston University

The Aussie Bean 30 Second Spot
Noah Rashba
Chapman University

Lost Chocolate: A Skateboard Story
Caleb Heller
Jane Hollon
Andrew Pollins
American Film Institute

The Plumber
Yoni Klein
Andrew Pollins
American Film Institute

Hadley Hillel
Chapman University

It's Just a Gun
Brian Robau
Chapman University

The Other Side
Daniel Abatan
American Film Institute

Head Games
Erika Orstad
University of Miami

Slow Angels
Ying Lu
New York University

Estefania de la Chica
Columbia University

Kevin Wong
New York University

For Old Time's Sake
Robert Mai
Chapman University

Ryan Stratton
Chapman University

Parchment Wings
Benjamin Hoff
University of North Carolina School of the Arts - School of Filmmaking

Carolina Week - April 13, 2016
McKenzie Bennett
University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

WUFT News First at Five: September 2nd, 2016
Dani Hurtado
Ryan Roberts
University of Florida

WVU News "Special Edition" Heroin and Opioids: When Addiction Hits Home
Megan Saporito
West Virginia University

The Buzz
Shasta Ford
Matt Nickley
Savannah College of Art and Design

Audrey Emerson
Jen Enfield-Kane
Joelle Jacoby
Jenn Kuan
Noah Suarez-Sikes
Amy Suto
University of Southern California

Helga Bryndis-Ernudottir
Allison Hartel
Andrea Massaro
Will McCance
Linda Riedman
Junyi Zhang
University of California-Los Angeles

Learn to Count in an Endangered Language
Eli LaBan
Temple University

Brad Parsons
Central Michigan University

Show-Me Chefs
Chelsea Eichholz
Ryan Gilyard
Daan Jansen
Missouri State University

2016 University of Florida Homecoming Parade Pre-Show
Danielle Frew
Jack Kramer
University of Florida

Brooklyn's Best
Amina Ebada
Michael Irgang
Kevin Keating
Salomeya Lomidze
Jeremy  Norris
Michael Zhonga
City University of New York - Brooklyn College

Routes TV-Oklahoma: The Natural Disaster State
Trevor Slack
University of Oklahoma

The Buzz
Matt Nickley
Savannah College of Art and Design

Dollar King
David Brent
American Film Institute

Trying to Fuck: A Modern Day Romance
Matt Gibson
Chapman University

Daisygreen Stenhouse
American Film Institute

No Way Back
Michael Kongshaug
Eileen Shim
American Film Institute

Christopher Greenslate
Mia Niebruegge
American Film Institute


About the Television Academy Foundation
Established in 1959 as the charitable arm of the Television Academy, the Television Academy Foundation is dedicated to preserving the legacy of television while educating and inspiring those who will shape its future. Through renowned educational and outreach programs such as the Archive of American Television, College Television Awards and Student Internship Program, the foundation seeks to widen the circle of voices our industry represents and to create more opportunity for television to reflect all of society. For more information on the foundation, please visit

# # #

For coverage contact:
Stephanie Goodell
breakwhitelight for the Television Academy

Add Your Comment

Must See

Antonio Banderas in the New Emmy

Antonio Banderas talks National Geographic's Genius, and his connection to Pablo Picasso.

Final Week for Emmy Awards Submissions

Submit for Emmy Award consideration.
Now through April 27 at 6:00 PM PT.

Emmy Magazine: Under the Cover with Genius

Antonio Banderas talks about becoming Picasso.