

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

2020 LOS ANGELES AREA EMMY[®] AWARDS HOSTED BY AWARD-WINNING JOURNALIST PAT HARVEY TO STREAM ON EMMYS.COM SATURDAY, JULY 18

Legendary Composer John Williams to Present Posthumous Los Angeles Area Governors Award to Kobe Bryant

(NOHO ARTS DISTRICT, Calif. – June 15, 2020) — The Television Academy will present the 2020 Los Angeles Area Emmy® Awards hosted by Emmy award-winning broadcast journalist and anchor Pat Harvey on Saturday evening, July 18, 2020, at 7 p.m. PDT and will stream for public viewing on Emmys.com.

The ceremony has been reimagined as a virtual event this year due to production restrictions resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic. Pat Harvey will host the evening, which honors locally produced programs in the categories of Crime and Social Issues, Culture and History, the Arts, Human Interest, Sports, the Environment, and Live and Breaking News Coverage.

Basketball legend and philanthropist Kobe Bryant has been named the recipient of the 2020 Los Angeles Area Emmy Governors Award, selected by the Los Angeles Area Governors Award committee and recognizing his legacy of philanthropy, community building and inspiration that extended beyond the basketball court. Bryant was a legendary fixture on Southern California television screens for over 20 years with tens of thousands of sports highlights during five Lakers championships, 18 All-Star appearances and two Olympic games.

Acclaimed composer John Williams, who composed the score for Bryant's Oscarwinning short film "Dear Basketball" and was a close friend of Bryant's, will introduce the ceremony's tribute to the sports legend, and will present and accept the award on behalf of the Bryant family.

Awards will be presented by local area personalities, reporters and newscasters including: Frank Buckley (KTLA5), Ana Patricia Candiani (Telemundo), Roy Choi (KCET and PBS SoCal), Fritz Coleman (NBC4), Christine Devine (FOX11), Nomar Garciaparra (Spectrum Sports Net LA), Dave Lopez (CBS2 and KCAL9), Lisa McRee (Spectrum 1 News), Kristina Pink (Fox Sports West), Dallas Raines (ABC7), Naibe Reynoso (LA County Channel), Gabriela Teissier (Univision), and Colleen Williams (NBC4).

For more information, visit Emmys.com.

#

Contact:

Stephanie Goodell breakwhitelight (for the Television Academy) Stephanie@breakwhitelight.com 818-462-1150