

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

TELEVISION ACADEMY ANNOUNCES NEWLY ELECTED OFFICERS AND GOVERNORS FOR 2022-2023 TERM

(**NOHO ARTS DISTRICT, Calif.** - Nov. 19, 2021) – The Television Academy today announced the newly elected officers and members to the Board of Governors who will serve two-year terms beginning on Jan. 1, 2022 – Dec. 31, 2023. An unprecedented 41% of those elected are new to the Academy's boardroom, including two governors representing the newly created Science & Technology Peer Group.

Current Chairman and CEO Frank Scherma (Commercials and Producers Peer Groups) was reelected for a second term. He will be joined by Vice Chair Sharon Lieblein (Casting Directors), Second Vice Chair Rickey Minor (Music), Secretary Allison Binder (Professional Representatives) and Treasurer Ann Leslie Uzdavinis (Commercials). All will serve a two-year term.

Attached is the Academy's Board of Governors for 2022.

The 25 newly elected governors who will serve their first-ever term are: Anya Adams (Directors); Kaz Aizawa (Animation); Wendy Aylsworth (Science & Technology); Edward H. Bonin (Special Visual Effects); Shannon Buck (Public Relations); Nikki Carbonetta (Makeup Artists/Hairstylists); Sherri Chung (Music); Ana Criado (Motion & Title Design); Nicole Demerse (Writers); Nena Erb, ACE (Picture Editors); Kim Estes (Performers); Scott A. Freeman (Reality Programming); Stephanie Hampton (Los Angeles Area); Marc Hirschfeld, CSA (Casting Directors); Dominique Kelley (Choreography); Kira Kelly, ASC (Cinematographers); Senain Kheshgi (Documentary Programming); Charlie McBrearty (Commercials); George Mooradian, ASC (Cinematographers); Phillip W. Palmer, CAS (Sound); Larry Rosenthal (Stunts); Hollann Sobers (Production Executives); Vito Trotta (Makeup Artists/Hairstylists); Steve Viola (Motion & Title Design); and Barry B. Zegel (Science & Technology).

Seven governors were reelected to serve a second term: Debra Curtis (Television Executives), Laura Guzik (Costume Design & Supervision), Bryan Leder (Professional Representatives), David Plakos (Lighting, Camera & Technical Arts),

Keith Raskin (Producers), Troy Underwood (Children's Programming), James Yarnell (Art Directors/Set Decorators).

Additionally, two of the governors elected are returning to the board to serve a new two-year term after a multiple-year absence from the Television Academy's governing body: Brenda Brkusic Milinkovic (Daytime Programming) and Christopher B. Reeves (Sound Editors).

About the Television Academy

The Television Academy seeks to expand the horizons of television excellence. Through the programs, publications and events of the Academy and its Foundation, it strives to empower storytellers who shape the evolving television space. And it celebrates those who have excelled by recognizing their achievements through accolades and awards, including television's most coveted prize, the Primetime Emmy® Award. For more information, please visit TelevisionAcademy.com.

#

<u>Contact</u>:

Stephanie Goodell

breakwhitelight (for the Television Academy) stephanie@breakwhitelight.com
818-462-1150