Social Icons

Social Connect

Awards News
January 04, 2010

Poehler to Host 2010 Television Academy Hall of Fame Induction Gala

Screen Star Amy Poehler and Television Academy will induct Candice Bergen, Star Trek creator Gene Roddenberry, Smothers Brothers, more on January 20.

Parks and Recreation star Amy Poehler will host the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences' 19th Hall of Fame induction gala, set for January 20 in Beverly Hills. 2010 inductees include actress/comedian Candice Bergen, Primetime Emmy Award winning art director Charles Lisanby, legendary announcer Don Pardo, Star Trek creator Gene Roddenberry, iconic comedians Tom and Dick Smothers and famed game show creator Bob Stewart. They join more than 100 on-and off-camera legends — actors, pioneering directors, producers, costume designers, writers, animators, executives, reporters and more — who have made extraordinary contributions to the television medium and have been inducted into the Hall of Fame since its inception in 1984. Lucille Ball, Johnny Carson, Walter Cronkite, Walt Disney, Bob Hope, Mary Tyler Moore, Barbara Walters, Dan Rather, Oprah Winfrey, Jacques-Yves Cousteau, Lorne Michaels, Carl Reiner, Katie Couric, Bob Mackie, Bob Barker, Bea Arthur, Regis Philbin and William Shatner are among Hall of Fame honorees. “Amy Poehler is one of the funniest people on TV, and we couldn’t be more excited to have her as the host of this year’s Hall of Fame ceremony,” Television Academy chairman John Shaffner said. “We look forward to honoring our deserving recipients with a memorable evening full of humor, emotion and personal tributes.” Poehler — who completed her eighth and final season of Saturday Night Live (and her fifth as the co-anchor of “Weekend Update”) in 2008 — has quickly emerged as one of Hollywood’s most versatile and sought after talents in television and film. Poehler, a two-time Primetime Emmy® nominee, currently stars as Leslie Knope in the hit NBC comedy series, Parks and Recreation.

Add Your Comment

Must See

2017 Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

Television Legends Including John Wells, Shonda Rhimes, and Original Cast of Saturday Night Live To Be Honored At 24th Hall of Fame Ceremony


Emmy Bash Photo Splash

A collection of stunning photos from the 69th Emmy Awards.

69th Engineering Emmy Awards Recipients Announced

Kirsten Vangsness Slated to Host This Year's Awards Ceremony on October 25 at Loews Hollywood Hotel